RSS

Are these innocent questions?

01 Jul

After recovering from my jetlag, I decided to go for a walk and enjoy the banglore weather. My mom took me to the park that she visits everyday . It was like all the other parks in banglore but filled mostly with old people, who are increasingly becoming aware of exercises for good health. The first round, I got introduced to a few of my mom’s walking mates who were relaxing in a corner bench and gossiping to glory. More than the walking, it is the gossipping that brings them to the park like moths to a flame. On to the second round, when I was introduced two of my mom’s mates who sounded very happy to see me…having come from the US and all…:-). While crossing them during the 3rd round, I was suddenly hit with a barrage of questions. The first one started with a statement..”Oh ! You look so young , Are you married?” . With a polite smile, I nod my head. “Oh really! Any kids?” . I answer that with a shake, which indicates “no”. You guessed it right,..the next question was “How long have you been married?” .By now, I am getting a bit irritated , but still answer it with “6 years”. They answer with “Wow! So, are you around 35 or maybe 30…You look like you are only 22” . Now, do I consider that as a compliment or is it necessary to let them know my original age. By now, I am thinking ….”Are these innocent questions ? Why would anyone want to know my age or if I have kids? How does this affect their life in any way? …Before I could answer them, my mom just pushed me away and we carefully pretended to be very busy when we walked past them for our next two rounds…I knew I was very much in India that moment…Where else can you find people showing more interest in your life than yourself….

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2006 in From AM-KICKING blog

 

4 responses to “Are these innocent questions?

  1. BrainWaves

    July 2, 2006 at 9:01 am

    It is easy to say that is the true color of people etc. as long as the question is not directed to us.

    It irritates the hell out esp. if the target is you 😦

     
  2. Mindframes

    July 3, 2006 at 2:56 am

    I have a feeling that we are more conscious of being posed with personal questions, especially after our stay here in US. Back in India, I still remember the times when those questions were a default part of life and I did move on… These days, I get frustrated with such questions… Either my opinions and my expressiveness has gone up OR I am just moulded into the US way of individualism…I dont know which one…

     
  3. Saumya

    July 3, 2006 at 3:09 pm

    I remember meeting this elderly lady on the train once : we started talking in a co-passengerly manner. She was nice…..but within 15 minutes, had asked me all questions that we flinch to ask ANYBODY!!

    When a person asks with no malice, I do not mind answering. It is when they ask with the motive of gossiping about us later, that I get irked!

     
  4. bumblebee

    July 4, 2006 at 7:48 pm

    Ha Ha! Happens… It’s so sweet of your Mom to tactfully protect you from the ensuing interview that would have otherwise taken place.

    I sometimes wish I could speak my mind, but I don’t think I would be understood. Besides, I find its easier to be quiet.

     

Leave a Reply

 
