RSS

Jayamma

01 Jul

Jayamma is our maid servant. She is the only person who can listen to my mom’s constant nagging and has a perfect understanding.Inspite of everything, she is our maid servant for the past 15 years and still going strong. She is the only person who can listen to my mom day in and day out and still continue with her job as though nothing happened.At the end of the day, my mom is also happy with her. There is one Jayamma in every household in India.When I was small, in Trichy, we used to have Thailamma , another Jayamma. Word has it that she once saved my life. When I was 6 months old, it seems I fell from a height of 5 feet and was breathless. My sister ran to Thailamma shouting..” Kuzhandai moochu vida mantegardhu” ..She came running to my rescue , did some tricks and got me breathing alive again. If not for the resourceful Thailamma, wonder what would have happened. She used to run to the bus stop with my sisters’ lunch box when they left in a hurry. We had Janakiamma who used to call my sis “Khema”( for Hema) and I was the “Sofa” (for Shobha) .What a fun that was…..I sure am proud of all those Jayammas and their patience, resourcefulness and plain niceness.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2006 in From AM-KICKING blog

 

2 responses to “Jayamma

  1. BrainWaves

    July 2, 2006 at 8:57 am

    It is Kullamma (because she was short) for me.

    My respect for them took a quantum leap when I start looking for Day care for Keerthana!

     
  2. Saumya

    July 3, 2006 at 3:05 pm

    Yes…I remember vividly being looked after by “Baby” (I was the baby then!), Ramani akka and Selvi.

    What was fantastic about Baby was that – she was the only one my parents could find before my mother started work, and her baby was born 2 days after me. So, her condition was that she would bring her baby along to our house, and look after both of us. Amma said she was such a loving and responsible caregiver that she was equally attached to both of us then!

    It is nice when you see loyal and trustworthy maids. Of course, we have seen out share of sneaky maids as well…..which is why we respect these people even more!

     

Leave a Reply

 
