RSS

A feeling of envy,pride and loss

02 Jul

Walked into the “FORUM” the other day with my parents. For those who are out of date, FORUM is one of the malls in banglore. Walking into the mall, I realised how much India has changed. It had a theatre with seven screens, 3 levels of shopping full of all brand name shops, including Tommy Hilfiger,Ralph Lauren etc etc..There were candy shops with gummy bears which I saw for the first time in India. We hit upon the food court in tht 2nd level and I was nonplussed on seeing Subway,mexican grill,chinese cuisine. Obviously, that was the last thing my parents wanted , especially my mom who had returned from US just two weeks back. We finally found a Chat place , much to our glee ,assured that “abhi bhi kuch bacha hai” .
Walking amongst youngsters, all dressed up in hep fashion ,did make me feel odd and out of place. The whole crowd has changed. I really found it very interesting when I saw a few foreigners walking around with their families in tow.THAT WAS A BIG CHANGE. It was a mixture of pride and loss , on seeing the foreigners on one hand and an abrupt change in the culture on the other. But, looking at the crowd, loitering around, enjoying the comforts, I think it was more of the green eyed monster lurking inside me that was overpowering. I always consider my bachelor days in TI,India as those of fun and excitement. Wonder how it would have been if we had all these luxuries 10 years back…..

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 2, 2006 in From AM-KICKING blog

 

4 responses to “A feeling of envy,pride and loss

  1. Mindframes

    July 3, 2006 at 2:49 am

    It is interesting to note how adaptive Indian culture is… As much as people claim that they have aversion to western culture, it seems like reality does portray a different picture…

    With frozen perspectives of what India is, it looks lke we all have an imaginary India on our heads. I think, we are and will be more authentic and culturally conscious than our counterparts back in India over time…

     
  2. Saumya

    July 3, 2006 at 6:29 pm

    Hmm..I think we need to brace ourselves for a culture shock in India!

    On our last trip, we were amazed at the outlook change, and the dress-sense.

     
  3. bumblebee

    July 4, 2006 at 8:08 pm

    Wow, is the Subway there similar to the one here or is it customized for local taste.

     
  4. BrainWaves

    July 5, 2006 at 11:43 pm

    Subway there was hep place for college kids to go. And they do have all kinds of local flavor.

    I heard they have Panneer based patty etc.

    AWesome isn’t it?

     

Leave a Reply

 
