RSS

Height of Service

13 Jul

“Its delayed by 2 hrs, Ma’m”

“This flight is cancelled,Ma’m. We can put you on the one at 2:30PM”.

“I am sorry,Ma’m.But the flight from Mumbai has not arrived yet. Your flight will be delayed till it arrives from Mumbai….””No, I cannot tell you how long its going to be delayed”.

I found , much to my dismay, that things have not changed much in the past years in the airline industry.

8 years ago…..

I was travelling from Banglore to Vizag , via Chennai…My plane from Banglore to Chennai got delayed, no cancellation luckily and it took me one full day to reach vizag….
On my way back….I was at the vizag airport in the morning at 10:00AM ,wondering how I was going to pass time at Chennai , where I had 6 hours stop over before catching my evening flight ,by Jet Airways at 7:00 PM to BLR. My IA flight got cancelled from vizag, and my BIL had to control my panic as I wanted to reach BLR very badly due to some health conditions. Finally, got into a flight going to hyderabad around 2:00PM, with my little,beloved niece staring at my plane from the terminus .On to hyderabad, where I caught another plane to chennai.By now, I was having a nervous breakdown as I had to catch the last plane from chennai to BLR ,was not sure if I could make it. It was 6:50PM, when the plane was taxing..and I had asked the captain to relay a message to the other aircraft regarding my arrival..Luckily, I had only a cabin baggage, and was in full panic when I saw my JA in the runway. I was standing near the door, ready to get down and hop into my other plane…..6:55PM..sprinted to the JA, realised I didnt have a boarding pass, ( found out its not like a bus where u can just hop in whenever possible:-))..But, atleast I could hold the plane till I got my boarding pass…WHEW !! That was a long day…

Last week…

Was travelling to chennai from banglore…Flight got delayed from 6:30PM to 8:15PM…I had a confirmed ticket in my hand, but was told at the counter that my ticket has got cancelled , due to some time limit from my travel agent…I had a ticket in my hand that said it was confirmed…Finally, got onto the plane after some negotiations with the check-in person ….On my return flight to banglore by kingfisher ,supposedly a very good airlines…I guess they thought it will be a disgrace to start ontime and delayed the flight by 15 minutes….

Do I call this good service ‘coz they somehow found a seat for me and made sure I reach my destination finally or do I call this bad service ‘coz things were not in time .

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2006 in From AM-KICKING blog

 

4 responses to “Height of Service

  1. Mindframes

    July 13, 2006 at 3:57 pm

    may be bad airline service, but, good customer service…:)

    For a city which is now the epicenter of Indian IT revolution, this certainly is a bad scene. But then, how often does it happen and if you were an outlier, would let us know if it is indeed bad…

     
  2. Saumya

    July 14, 2006 at 5:35 pm

    I guess we have to be thrilled that you got polite answers 🙂

    Interestingly, our Deccan flight from New Delhi to Chennai was delayed by 2 hours in Hyd, and we were not even informed. We were just sitting in the flight wondering why it is taking so long to get people to board the Hyd-Chennai leg! The next day, same flight, same timing, same amount of delay (when BIL was travelling) Luckily we had warned them, and they came prepared with food for themselves to eat while waiting!!

     
  3. Injikadan Mathai

    July 17, 2006 at 7:49 pm

    uhuh..gotta be careful huh…me goin home in a weeks time too…but i prefer trains to planes…Indian Railways RULE…hehehehe

     
  4. Hip Grandma

    October 10, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    You were plain lucky where others may not be even half as lucky as you.In India it is a wonder that people get to reach their destination at all.Pada yatra as in ancient times may be the answer to our woes not forgetting the health benefits.BTW thanks for dropping at my blogspot.

     

Leave a Reply

 
