RSS

Pillsbury – Please Bury

14 May

After reading about Bee’s rant of Atta available in Indian stores and with all the experiences that I have had so far with Indian store products, I should have known better. Shame on me. In we walked last sunday into this store , to buy some atta. I have been buying this brand called Sujatha, which is as close as you could get to whole wheat from an Indian store. My eyes fell on the Pillsbury brand , which specifically said “No Added Maida” and “Extra Wheat Bran Added”. My heart filled with joy and I jumped , grabbing at the 20Lb bag with all my might.Suresh had to pull me away from the bag as there was no way I could lift it. We come home, pour it and out comes this beige colored flour. I wrinkled my nose and Suresh assured me that it said “extra bran”, which might have made the whole wheat paler. 😉
Tried making rotis yesterday and it became obvious that it was actually MAIDA flour with some “EXTRA BRAN” added to give it a wheatish tinge. I could pull the rotis in all shapes and sizes and it was as sticky as ….hmmm..well… Maida.How dare they? Such a blatant lie. I thought Pillsbury being a known brand will make it authentic too. My bad, I guess. No more Indian Store Atta for me. I am sure if I had bought Pillsbury Whole Wheat Flour from a regular grocery store, it would most probably be OK.Have you observed that even the restaurant rotis here has maida added to the wheat flour.

IMG_0187 Mr.Pillsbury from Indian Store, Do you even know the meaning of durum wheat? or wheat bran or maida for that matter? Please refer to the Wikipedia and stop lying or better stop selling what you call as durum atta. I think there was a miscommunication when someone told you that durum wheat atta is actually white in colour.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2009 in Rant

 

11 responses to “Pillsbury – Please Bury

  1. suresh

    May 14, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    May be, the title should be

    Pillsbury Atta – Baree Maida ( in kannada, it means “just maida”)

     
  2. Sri

    May 15, 2009 at 9:56 am

    FYI. Sujatha Atta is new name for Pillsbury. (same brand)

    And the picture sounds fishy. Pillsbury bags I have seen so far had that little chef guy’s picture.

     
    • shoba

      May 15, 2009 at 10:12 am

      I know. I thought so too. I remember that Pillsbury was changed to Sujata few years back. That was another reason why I thought this might be good.And, this one had the little chef’s picture too. I don’t know who is playing the crook here. The Store had both Pillsbury and Sujatha brands.

       
  3. Saumya

    May 18, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Hmm….this demands testing using one method – try making chole bature and determine if it atta or maida!

     
  4. Suma

    September 22, 2009 at 10:53 am

    Hi Folks,

    Durum wheat is a different variety of wheat compared to the whole wheat that we are used to in India. Durum wheat is grown in Canada and in some European countries. I don’t think durum wheat is suitable for our Indian chapathis. That is what I have realized in my years of experience.

     
  5. sachita

    May 25, 2010 at 11:07 am

    Just somehow landed up in this post( was displayed on the sidebar), but is Sujatha good – in terms of fiber – the reason why I ask is, For years I struggled with making rotis and this Sujatha made it a piece of cake. Wondering if it is because they might have lesser wheat content?

     
    • shoba

      May 25, 2010 at 11:42 am

      Sachitha,
      Sujatha is definitely better than the other brands that we find here and I am sure it has more wheat content than the rest. I have started using Annapoorna, which is also pretty decent for rotis. You might want to try that. Of course, you can always buy fine whole wheat flour from regular grocery stores like Safeway and give that a try ( ‘coz that would be full whole wheat for sure).
      I have a feeling the other “ATTA”s that you tried most probably had less wheat content, which might have had more gluten and feel of Maida and Sujatha works better as it has more wheat.

       
  6. abc-abd

    December 3, 2012 at 6:11 am

    Tesco label says Pilsbury being whole meal. This seems like a fake product using the brand name.

    Reference: http://www.tesco.com/groceries/Product/Details/?id=259669825

     
  7. maintenace for hcg injections therapy

    May 28, 2013 at 12:35 am

    Hey there! I know this is somewhat off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does running a well-established website like yours require
    a large amount of work? I’m brand new to operating a blog however I do write in my diary daily. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my personal experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations
    or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

     
  8. Vinod

    December 24, 2016 at 9:23 am

    Guys are you sure that pillsburry full of atta?

     
  9. Vinod

    December 24, 2016 at 9:24 am

    I bought 10KG and last 2 months I was using this only for my lunch and dinner. As of now I am highly constipated and I doubt this might be the villain bcoz of maida.

     

Leave a Reply

 
