RSS

Murphy, not mighty

17 May

Scenario 1:
Car breaks down when driving back from work on a cold winter day. My cellphone is not working.I walk a mile to reach a call phone and talk to Suresh. It takes 1 hour for Suresh to reach my location while I sit in my car, shivering. He has to take a bus as the other car is in the shop.He comes,calls AAA and gets the car towed.We walk another mile, catch a bus and reach home by 1:00AM.

Scenario 2:
Car breaks down when driving to work in the morning. I have an important meeting , but get delayed. I panic, try reaching Suresh but am unable to reach him.Panic..Panic..Panic.Being totally stranded, I don’t know what to think. Finally, reach Sri, who finds Suresh and they come to my rescue.

Scenario 3:
Car breaks down in the office parking lot. I realize this on my way out for lunch. Luckily, Suresh , for the first time after having bought a cycle over the weekend had biked to work. I go home, with help from a colleague , get the other car , drive back to work, call AAA and get the car towed to the dealership. The car was anyway due for a service for quite some time. Also,since I have a car at my disposal, I can go to the gym without waiting for Suresh.

Yes!! You guessed it right. I like Scenario 3 ,which happened last Monday. For once, Murphy was not right and I scored one against Murphy.
IMG_0186
Apparently, my battery leaked enough acid to corrode and crack the positive terminal cable as you can see from the above picture.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2009 in General

 

4 responses to “Murphy, not mighty

  1. Sri

    May 18, 2009 at 10:29 am

    You could have dramatized the 2 a bit more.. πŸ™‚

    Whenever my tire goes flat and I change it..I get worried about that happening on the freeway..then I go back to my life after 20 seconds πŸ™‚

     
    • shoba

      May 18, 2009 at 11:44 am

      Scenario 2:
      Contd…
      Panic..Panic..Panic..I try to reach Sri, only to learn that he is having an early lunch. If there is one thing that Sri doesn’t like is somebody disturbing him while eating. So, I am forced to wait on the phone for 10 minutes till Sri finishes his lunch and then he tries to get Suresh for me…

      @Sri,
      How does that sound? Better, huh ? πŸ˜‰

      Infact, once, Suresh had a flat tire in the freeway but luckily it was close to the exit and he could park his car in the shoulder.

       
  2. Saumya

    May 18, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Suresh’s adventures on the freeway demand a separate blog by itself!

    As it is, anything happens with the car, I get very flustered. I can imagine how mighty thrilled you would have been dealing with it like in Case 3

     
  3. Sri

    May 18, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    much better now…you need create panic in reader’s mind..
    now that Sri is eating lunch..they will start wondering what is he eating..what kind of person who eats in this situation… what did shoba do for sri to ignore her very important call etc. πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
