RSS

Nodi Swami, navu irodhu heege

17 May

9:45 PM..The phone rings….

L: Hey Shoba, Did you see the fire engine outside?
S: Yep, I saw that . Don’t know where the problem is.
L: Hey! Its your neighbor. All the firemen are inside that house.
S: Wow ! really ! How do you know?.
L: I am watching them from my window. Go out and you should be able to see it from your patio.

( We live in a townhouse complex and the neighbour who got affected shares a wall with us.FYI)

I went outside and tried to get a clear view of what was going on . Unfortunately, with my height of 5’2” , unless I jump, there was no way I could see anything and it would have seemed a bit too eager for the bunch of firemen next door, if they suddenly see a face bobbing up and down over the wall and I was scared shit to show my face anyway.I came back inside the house , wondering what could have happened. By then, a police car rolled in , just outside my window.

10:00PM…..Phone rings..

L: Hey, Do you see the cops crawling all over the place?
S: Really, I saw just one police car coming in.
L: The fire engine is gone and there are 6 cops walking around with a camera , taking pictures. There is someone on a stretcher inside the house.
S: Wow, Where are you seeing all this from?
L: From my upstairs window.I can see their house very well from here.

I don’t know why we were talking in such hushed tones in spite of being inside our houses. Just watching 6 cops together does that to you,I guess. To better understand the scenario,L’s house is opposite mine, so she gets a better view of my neighbour, who is adjacent to me. I walked upstairs , switched off my lights and saw L’s house in complete darkness though I knew for sure she was peeking from one of her windows.I took a peek from my window and saw the cops in deep discussion.

S: What could it be?
L: Might be domestic violence, I think.
S: But, J who lives there is usually out of town. She has a bunch of caretakers coming in and out during her absence. Maybe, it could be one of them. I doubt if it is J.

With that, I went to sleep knowing that L will definitely solve the mystery the next day,as she was the director for our HOA and usually gets all the latest happenings in our area. I did come to know that someone had died next door and there were some legal complications as he was not a resident of that house and so the cops were called. Yes, it turned out to be a very sad story but we take pride in knowing it. I have never met an Indian till today who does not take pride in knowing facts. We just love to say,”Oh! I know…” .

” My son knows the names of all the past presidents.”
” My daughter can identify every single country on the map.”

If someone says actress Simran is from Punjab, my immediate response would be, “Oh!,I saw her once when flying from Chennai to Vizag. She was sitting right next to me ..phhh..Looks just like any other girl next door in person and very different than when seen on screen”. Just a mere mention of Simran is good enough for me to talk about my trip to Vizag.I just have to say something about Simran that I know.

“Hey, Have you read RM’s blog. He has written some very humorous articles.”
“Oh! ,That guy..Apparently, he was my S’s (my friend’s hubby) junior in school.”

As though,just being S’s junior make his articles less funny. Just knowing he is S’s junior is good enough.

But, that is who we are and I take pride in knowing that .

Nodi Swami, navu irodhu heege ( Kannada)
Yes sir, This is how we are (( or )) See Sir, We are like this only.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2009 in General

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Nodi Swami, navu irodhu heege

  1. Srivalli

    May 18, 2009 at 9:03 am

    hahah..thats really very well written!…

     
    • shoba

      May 18, 2009 at 11:11 am

      Srivalli,
      Thanks for visiting my blog. Will check out your blog.

       
  2. Sri

    May 18, 2009 at 10:27 am

    I am not sure how to comment to this blog.. actually little bit taken aback when I read someone died (even though I have no idea who it is)

    I agree with the point. We would like to highlight our 6th degree connection with any “important” person/event.

    But I am guessing, it may be a world wide phenomenon. Why else do you think LinkedIn is so successful?! One day we can say.. someone in our 1st/2nd/3rd connection became famous/made money etc.

     
    • shoba

      May 18, 2009 at 11:15 am

      Sri,
      I think our network is more or less the same and we know the same people. Lets hope one of them becomes really famous for us to talk about. 😉

       
  3. Saumya

    May 18, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Excellent narrative – even though the event is regrettable. Death always saddens me.

    I couldn’t help smiling at you and l talking in hushed tones inside your homes 🙂

     
    • shoba

      May 18, 2009 at 9:08 pm

      Yes, the event was regrettable. It was someone who we didn’t know and died of natural causes. The cops were called just because it was not his residence. And, our neighbor is out of town. So, we had no clue about who it was as there is no one in that house now.

       

Leave a Reply

 
