RSS

Happy Anniversary

08 Jun

It is the eleventh anniversary of my kidney transplant today. Wow!! Just wow!! I feel lucky and happy to see this day,thanks to my mom .She was a person who was always concerned about my health.I still remember the letters that she wrote me during my college days (early 90s). Our only medium of written communication was English as I didn’t know how to read or write Kannada . She was not very well versed in English, but still took the pains to write to me in her own hand. Even though they might have had lot of mistakes , those letters were so lovely and sweet. The letters always started with “How are you? Hope you are eating well. Make sure you eat the dates with honey every day”. šŸ™‚ I cherish those letters and read them every now and then. It always brings a smile to my face.

bdaycake

A photo of Mom holding me , which Suresh had used once for my birthday cake.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2009 in General

 

7 responses to “Happy Anniversary

  1. Meera Manohar

    June 8, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Awesome, Awesome, Awesome– congratulations Shoba. It’s always something that you will look back and smile and good reason to do so too šŸ™‚

    Time flies and mothers are always there to remind us what to do when we forget……… like eating properly ( aahn, not exactly but still you know what I mean šŸ˜‰

     
  2. Manohar

    June 8, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Congratulations and wish you many more years of the one true gift that we all cherish — good health.

     
  3. Sri

    June 9, 2009 at 4:22 am

    Nice photo there..
    Hearty wishes for many more years of good health!

    I had a collection of all my mom’s letter to me (in chronological order). I don’t know where it is now. But I found it very interesting read, esp. how the time between letters changed in 4 years and the content matured in that time etc.

     
  4. Saumya

    June 9, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Here’s a toast to your continued good health Chocha. Your mother not only saved your life, she also gifted us with an awesome friend – so, thank you aunty šŸ™‚

     
  5. shoba

    June 9, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Thank you guys.

     
  6. Praveen

    June 9, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    best wishes šŸ™‚

     
    • shoba

      June 10, 2009 at 11:38 am

      thank you.

       

Leave a Reply

 
