RSS

Twitter – Tweet

17 Jun

Jack and Suzy Welch ( GE ) had a column about tweeting in the last issue of Business week. Apparently , Suzy started tweeting to promote her book. It was used more as a marketing platform and Jack got hooked onto it and likes the fact that he is able to discuss about various business ideas with youngsters. He correlated it to a cocktail party. From what I have read, Twitter is all about following. And for Celebs, it makes sense as they need fans to promote themselves. But, why would anyone follow other people and their lives. If twitter is being used as a forum for discussion for similar minded people, welcome but to know what someone is doing at the current moment…hmm…not so welcome.

Lets admit it. We all have a narcissistic intention while blogging. It feels good if someone comments and of course, in the process we do develop online friends.To me , tweeting seems to be taking it to the next level. I spend quite some time blog hopping at work. I very rarely browse the net while at home. If you add tweet to that, I would be spending my time just talking to people all the time, at work and at home and will be too busy telling them about whats going on in my life. What about the pleasant surprises and the long conversations that we have when we bump into a friend. Won’t we miss that?

” I woke up early today. Could not sleep much.”

” Oops sorry… Got to take a *****. Talk to u later”

” Hey !! There is a Porsche in the front . Man!! That is some rash driving.” ( Btw, texting while driving is illegal in CA)

” I am in a meeting.” ( WTF ?? )

” Got to go home now. Check out my blog.A new post !”

” Ya, Ya… Read your comment. I agree with what you said.” ( Comments section have a reply button, don’t they)

Maybe, I am being cynical here as I have not yet started tweeting, but if you do, let me know what you tweet and how useful it is. Btw, this blog took 360 words count, way more than 140 to express my thoughts. 🙂

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2009 in General

 

5 responses to “Twitter – Tweet

  1. Manohar

    June 18, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Somehow I it took me a while to get facebook (I still haven’t really got it)… just when I thought i’m a social networking king…. here comes twitter and i still haven’t figured out why I would keep updating with 140 words my progress through the day 🙂

     
  2. suresh

    June 18, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    I think it is all about feeling good about oneself… Originally. the promotion was all about the degree that you earn or the position you hold in a company and so on…. twittering is a new way to gain attention… obviously, celebrities don’t have to work too much on it, or rather, they do have to, if they have to prove a point… For others, as long as someone has a computer at hand and a bunch of equal minded people at their disposal, it works out well I guess…:)…

     
  3. Saumya

    June 22, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    Sometimes, I wonder how people have the time- I guess it just becomes a way of life right?

    10:56 a.m.: “Feeling low…wondering why I am working on this defect”

    11:10 a.m.: “Phew feeling good – that defect was moved to another queue!”

     
    • shoba

      June 22, 2009 at 5:21 pm

      Pretty good, Saumya. You are keeping it within 140… 🙂

       
  4. Sri

    June 24, 2009 at 10:01 am

    I was in the mood to type, how pointless this tweet world is and realised.. same was said about computers (is it 140 letters yet? – i can’t take the pressure – cu)

     

Leave a Reply

 
