RSS

The Mask

06 Jul

If you are thinking this post is going to be about Jim Carrey, then you are wrong. I would like to write a post about his versatiility someday , but right now, it is all about me.

Just to make sure that I don’t start snorting and go “Oink, Oink” , I was asked to wear a mask by my near and dear during my flight trip from SFO to Banglore. Due to constant insistence by Paati K, Suresh went and bought some masks and I set out on my journey with much aplomb, thayir rice in one hand and pulikachal rice in the other,prepared and packed duly by my friend L. I felt like a school girl on the first day, especially when Arvind ,my neighbour dropped by ,just to send me off. On reaching the airport, seeing a full flight and no masks, I go, “Do I or don’t I”…Discarding all my apprehensions, keeping in mind my compromised immunity, I decided to wear the mask.When it comes to masks, there are two varieties, the surgical kind,
flumask and the “Jai Bajarang Bali” kind,
flumask1. I was wearing the latter.
The flight was full of kids and I was seated in the last row, right next to the toilets. The kids had lotta fun and out went the cry, “There is Bala Hanuman in the last row.” I tried to pacify myself saying that it was the belt hanging in the side and not the mask. Keeping me company were the air hostesses , though wearing the surgical kind. The camouflage was too confusing.If I had to hear someone talking, I was removing the mask instead of the head phones. One might wonder what the use was, if you have to remove the mask everytime you talk to someone. I know, but I still wore it, all through the journey except ofcourse, when I was talking to my coughing neighbour in the plane.

On reaching India, the airport staff treated us like untouchables, all wearing masks, checking our temperature. Very ironical as I fall sick everytime I visit India and the elders have a good healthy time when they visit us.So far, not a single Oink from me and am getting geared for all the Dosas and Idlis. Jai ho!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2009 in General, Humor.. or not?

 

8 responses to “The Mask

  1. Saumya

    July 7, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    Thank God you did not travel with Suresh. Imagine, taking the mask off to talk to him every time!

    Have a safe and healthy trip Shoba.

     
    • shoba

      July 8, 2009 at 7:38 pm

      πŸ™‚ Apparently, he really had a nice flight… Very JJJ…

       
  2. Sri

    July 8, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    “Jai banjrang bali” – hillarious

    I heard from my parents about the scrutiny “US” people go through due to this swine flu.

    It is cheap revenge for all the things US did to India I guess 😦

    Have a safe & fun vacation!

     
    • shoba

      July 8, 2009 at 7:39 pm

      Already having some real nice food. I guess any food is nice as long as you don’t have to cook. πŸ™‚

       
  3. Praveen

    July 9, 2009 at 8:21 am

    heheheh

     
  4. Usha

    July 9, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Last week I returned from Chicago and I was quite worried about catching something on the flight as the Indian media makes a big deal of it. I didnt hear the words swine or flu mentioned separately or together in the 3 weeks I was in the U.S.
    Anyway the pharmacies had run out of masks so no luck. And when I landed in Mumbai, I was simply asked to filla form and a guy asked me if I had fever. I said ‘no’ and he said thank you and let me pass. That is it! No major checks.

    I laughed through this post. heheheh

     
    • shoba

      July 9, 2009 at 11:11 pm

      Usha,
      Good for you that you landed in Bombay. Apparently , at chennai also,it was just a form. In Banglore, they are being extra careful , I guess..

       

Leave a Reply

 
