RSS

Back home from “Back Home”

19 Aug

Human beings feel secure following a routine. At least, I do.After 6 weeks of sabbatical spent in India, I am back home. It feels good to get up in the morning, go to work, gym , cook dinner and sleep. Yeah, a typical routine followed in every household.

Kids born to Indian parents in the USA are called ABCDs, American Born Confused Desis. Apparently, they get confused because of the Indian culture being forced on them.They are not sure if they should be American, Indian American or Indian. I agree, it does get confusing when every Indian kid is forced to become a musician or a dancer from an young age.Who cares if they are interested or not? Poor things, I have seen quite a few of them singing with a frown in my Music class. Anyway, I don’t want to talk about the kids now. That’s reserved for a separate blog.

I am a resident of USA and consider CAL as my home. I was very happy when my plane landed and was jumping with joy , just to enter my house, my kitchen and my bedroom. But, when I talk to my colleagues about India, my sentences always start with…
“Back Home, we……..”
“Back Home, we get really juicy mangoes.”
“Back Home, these issues would have been frowned upon.”
You get the gist…

Aren’t we confused either? Why blame th e kids alone?Having spent the first 24 years of my life in India, it is definitely still home. But, the nuclear life that is formed in the US makes me feel more secure. I get homesick after a couple of years. When I visit India, I get homesick after a couple of weeks. Confused ?? I would think so….

All said and done, a wonderful relaxing trip, a well deserved break and now to the grinding routine. Hmmmm… It does feel good to be back home from “Back Home”.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 19, 2009 in General, Life Philosophical Thought

 

7 responses to “Back home from “Back Home”

  1. Manohar

    August 19, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    Rombha deep but good 🙂

     
  2. Sudha Rajagopalan

    August 21, 2009 at 11:02 am

    My thoughts exactly. First we try to fit in resenting the decision made to come here. Slowly we get used to life here but still miss home. Periodic visits cure the homesickness. But prolonged stays back home, makes us long for our own space and lifestyle here. Put the kids in the mix, it gets even more complex. When I see my cousins kids growing up together back home, and see mine not having the same here, I wonder what am I doing here. Add aging parents to the mix, the guilt level sky rockets. But life goes on. Make the best of what we got, right ?

     
    • shoba

      August 21, 2009 at 4:55 pm

      Amen! You got to do what you got to do !

       
  3. Saumya

    August 24, 2009 at 11:06 am

    The C in ABCD is of the parents alone. Leave children to their own bearings and they have a way of filling right in – after all, they have only seen USA. It is the parents who are confused, and like sharing a last name, also share the confusion.

    I agree with home-sweet-home. I love our home 🙂

     
    • shoba

      August 24, 2009 at 1:51 pm

      You said it right !!

       
  4. Sri

    August 24, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Unrelated to this post.. but the pic on the top (running legs only) is very nice idea.

     
    • shoba

      August 24, 2009 at 1:51 pm

      Thanks buddy.

       

Leave a Reply

 
