RSS

Kefir & Thank You

11 Nov

The first I heard of Kefir was a couple of years ago and have loved it ever since.

Kefir (alternately kefīrs, keefir, kephir, kewra, talai, mudu kekiya, milkkefir, búlgaros) is a fermented milk drink that originated in the Caucasus region. It is prepared by inoculating cow, goat, or sheep’s milk with kefir grains. Traditional kefir was made in skin bags that were hung near a doorway; the bag would be knocked by anyone passing through the doorway to help keep the milk and kefir grains well mixed

I was overjoyed when I got picked by Bee for the Kefir Grains. On Monday, this package arrived at our doorstep
shoba_099
thanks to Jai & Bee at Jugalbandi
I dunked it in milk the moment we opened the package..OK,after taking the photo. Both Suresh and I were checking it every few hours to see the various stages and mix it every now and then. Since I used Fat Free milk, I ended up with a runny liquid . Added ginger, salt and curry powder( I mean just plain curry powder which my mom prepared by drying curry leaves). Viola !! Neer More ( Watery buttermilk in Tamil) ready.
To know more about the preparation of Kefir , visit Jugalbandi .I just followed the steps mentioned by Bee.
shoba_106

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 11, 2009 in General, health, Recipes

 

Tags:

9 responses to “Kefir & Thank You

  1. Saumya

    November 13, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Interesting aside from the mother of constipation: Kefir is full of probiotics, and that makes digestion easier. Taste-wise, I don’t find it too different from yogurt, but I have only tasted it a couple of times.

     
    • shoba

      November 13, 2009 at 6:11 pm

      Saumya,
      The original kefir actually tastes a bit different than yogurt. They are a bit sour with a slight yeasty flavor. But, hey, I am not complaining as they are really good for health.

       
  2. sachita

    November 13, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    err… my comment is missing?

    or did i forgot to press the submit comment again?

     
    • shoba

      November 13, 2009 at 6:12 pm

      OK, I can see this comment. 🙂
      I am assuming u commented something about Kefir.. LOL

       
  3. Asha

    April 16, 2013 at 9:15 am

    Could you please tell me where to find Kefir grains in Chennai or in Bangalore

     
  4. Maitreyi

    May 7, 2014 at 9:47 pm

    Hi, I live in Pune and was also interested in buy the Milk Kefir Grains, my father is going to travel to Chennai next week is it possible to give them to him? Or courier it to Pune?

     
    • TheBiocareshop

      May 12, 2014 at 8:48 pm

      Hi,
      At present we have organic water kefir grains in stock.please letys know If you would like to buy with offer price.
      Warm Regards,

       
    • suyashdhoot

      June 7, 2017 at 10:35 am

      I can supply them to you in Pune. 7506110957

       

Leave a Reply

 
