RSS

Please, don’t unfriend me

18 Nov

It’s facebook official.

This year’s New Oxford American Dictionary’s Word of the Year is ‘unfriend.’

The verb means to “remove someone as a ‘friend’ on a social networking site such as Facebook.”

The definition has both “currency and potential longevity,” according to Christine Lindberg, Senior Lexicographer for Oxford’s US dictionary program

The same dictionary which defined Friend as “one attached to another by affection or esteem” decided to unfriend it.

Just when I had the satisfied look of someone who has enjoyed a full course meal ending with Thayir Sadham , on joining facebook last month, the word mongers come up with this insult. Seriously, is it not enough that all my friends see the tab ” Your friend Shoba does not seem to be well connected. Please suggest some friends” , which is soon to be followed by a tab saying ” Please don’t unfriend Shoba. She has so few friends as it is.” Damn !!

I unfriend Oxford American dictionary. There, my first unfriendliness..

Update:
This blogger has also written her perspective of the word.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2009 in General, Humor.. or not?

 

Tags: ,

13 responses to “Please, don’t unfriend me

  1. Praveen

    November 19, 2009 at 1:06 am

    And you did’nt read Usha yet?

     
    • shoba

      November 19, 2009 at 10:38 am

      I glanced at the title, but didn’t have time to read her blog yet. …Will read it sometime today.

       
  2. nourishncherish

    November 19, 2009 at 10:15 am

    🙂 That is funny Chocha! How come it is not “befriend” someone, but it is “unfriend” someone?

     
    • shoba

      November 19, 2009 at 10:40 am

      befriend is friending someone and unfriend is …hmmm..well unfriending or defriending someone.. LOL

       
  3. sachita

    November 19, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    So you are saying, it shud be like janam janam ka rishta or fevicol ka jod.

    why friend some one and then unfriend them? – meanies!

     
    • shoba

      November 19, 2009 at 5:36 pm

      If it is fevicol ka jod, no one can be unfriended…
      Fevicol ka jod , kabhi tootega nahi.. 🙂

       
  4. Sri

    November 19, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    If Unfriend-ing message won’t go to the ‘friend” then I am liking this feature.

    But again..I wonder, if I don’t get responses for my very important facebook updates (“To eat the last vadai or not.. hmm touch question”) from my friends, should I say they are genuinely not interested in my eating patterns or they already unfriended me????

    So many things to worry now 😦 🙂

    I heard the same in NPR yesteray. And 2005’s word was “podcast”

    2008 word (I loved it)
    “Hypermiling” or “to hypermile” is to attempt to maximize gas mileage by making fuel-conserving adjustments to one’s car and one’s driving techniques.

    2007 – locavore (one who eats locally grown veggies)
    2006 – Carbon-neutral
    2005 (Seems like a old days…) : Podcast

     
    • shoba

      November 19, 2009 at 5:38 pm

      Damn !! Unfriend is here to stay, man !! Especially, since I prefer to be a locavore , trying my hand at carbon-neutralizing by hypermiling, the meanings of which I originally downloaded in my iphone via podcast.. Bad!! Really bad !!

       
      • Sri

        November 19, 2009 at 5:57 pm

        Yellathaiyum yepadio fit pannitee..?? .. here are my attempts

        Hypermile, Locavore, Carbon-neutral, Podcast and Unfriend were the new words learnt in Chocha’s blog (heee heee)

        I just unfriended my these nick names, Hypermile, Locavore, Carbon-Neutral, Podcast.

        Indha cheap sentences pothuma..innum konjam venummaa?? 🙂

         
        • shoba

          November 19, 2009 at 6:09 pm

          Sri has used Hypermile, Locavore, Carbon-neutral, Podcast and Unfriend in this comment.
          Hypermile, Locavore, Carbon-neutral, Podcast and Unfriend are the few words that were introduced in the last 5 years.

          * Please read the above sentences loud in “As I am suffering my fever….” tune..

          Idhu…Idhu… Idhu cheap… 🙂

           
          • suresh

            November 19, 2009 at 6:48 pm

            Neraiya comment varanungrathuku ippidiyellam vazhi irukko…

             
            • Sri

              November 19, 2009 at 11:15 pm

              Comment section only shows the number..not how cheap the comments are 🙂
              Now it is going to show 13

               
  5. suresh

    November 19, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    I am always intrigued by these abstract notion of “friendship” in social networking groups like facebook. The cool part, atleast of facebook, is that, it is not as descriptive as a blog which needs some attention on the part of the readers and does not need constant connection as a chat session….

    I noticed that there is a fan group to add the “UnLike” button in facebook.

     

Leave a Reply

 
