RSS

3 Idiots

18 Jan

Humor – Some slapstick and some subtle nice ones. My favorite – the one where Joshi answers “Drrrrr…” when asked “How does an induction motor start?”.
Drama – In bits and pieces, delivering a baby feels like a child’s play , rather an engineer’s play….. I am sure the doctors are grinding their teeth at this one.
The child sitting next to me in the theatre and questioning his mom started,” Is the baby dead?” on seeing Aamir holding a plastic toy. Mom said,” No, it is born just now. “. “Yuck ! why is he so dirty?”. I am not sure if you want a 5 year old to wonder about that..On second thoughts, maybe it is OK.
Message – I guess very well known, one about our education system. At least, when we were trying to get into IITs, ( no , I did not study there) like almost 2 decades ago, it was well known that just theoretical studying and cramming will not get you there. The college portrayed , in my mind, does not fit in to then IIT. And we need Chatur Ramalingams too, though they might be one too many in our schools. Most often than not, they at least work hard.Not every one is born a genius and not every one knows, especially at that age, what they are passionate about.
Songs – Definitely catchy and worth humming.. Kudos to Shantanu.
Cast – I have to hand it to Aamir . He has done his part to portray as a student. His height and face does help mask his age. The movie is all about Aamir and he carries it very well. Madhavan has, as usual, performed his role to the T. Sharman Joshi has always been good at humor and scores this one too. Kareena is wasted, not that she would have done much otherwise. Anyway, Aamir is the only Khan I love and Madhavan is the only Tamil Actor I have always loved from “Banegi Apni Baat” days and so, drumroll….on the casting.Oh! And yes Om Vaidya is quite refreshing.
Controversy: I have not read even a single CB book and so, really don’t care much about whether it is Ryan or Rancho.

A film that would be loved by engineers & students, liked by the previous generation provided they mask out a few scenes which may not make sense and look foolish.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2010 in General, movies

 

Tags: ,

13 responses to “3 Idiots

  1. nourishncherish

    January 18, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    Waiting to see this one – so much hype!

     
    • shoba

      January 18, 2010 at 4:59 pm

      Take your time. IMO, the hype is a bit too much. It is good time pass.

       
  2. Praveen

    January 18, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    I liked it in parts and I am not an engineer πŸ™‚

     
    • shoba

      January 19, 2010 at 10:32 am

      But, I am sure you were a student once.. πŸ™‚ I hope you were not a day scholar and missed all the fun of hostel life.

       
  3. Meera Manohar

    January 19, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    Nice part by part review, Shoba. Relived with the movie from your bits and pieces, all over again πŸ™‚

     
    • shoba

      January 19, 2010 at 5:33 pm

      I am assuming you really liked the movie. Glad to have rekindled your movie experience. πŸ™‚

       
  4. s

    January 19, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    well written review….the movie def didnt rock my world..so i guess i am the minority!
    http://forkbootsandapalette.wordpress.com

     
  5. Deepak

    January 20, 2010 at 2:07 am

    Hey nice review.. Me still waiting to see.. my lil sonny wants to see it as well… If I take him, it will be his first movie at a theater. I have read the CB book so am very curious…

     
  6. shoba

    January 20, 2010 at 10:59 am

    @ S,
    Welcome . The movie didn’t rock ours either.. πŸ™‚ Will check out your blog.

    @ Deepak,

    Welcome to our blog. Well, for a first movie at a theater, this one might be too long. Good luck. πŸ™‚ According to some people, the movie is 40-50% from CB’s novel.

     
  7. Sudhir

    January 20, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    Good review.. just think that another message that the director is trying to put across is to do what u r good at n not just blindly follow the crowd, but i guess easier said than done!

     
    • shoba

      January 21, 2010 at 10:29 am

      Welcome Bachhu.. Finally, you decided to comment kya ..

       
  8. Hema

    January 22, 2010 at 3:07 am

    Good snap-shot. The hype created was so much that my expectations were soaring high.
    But for Aamir and Maddy, I wouldnt have enjoyed it that much. Although both of them are far beyond the age that the role calls for, its great how they pulled it off!
    I dont know if you observed, in some scenes, the background music was so dramatic with a little or no content in the dialogues. When Madavan meets his dad and some college scenes.
    Yes, the doll bit in the last scene was so obvious and I have not ever seen or heard of a new born being so BIG!
    Well, critique apart, it was no doubt an entertainer and watchable once definitely. I love Aamir!

     
  9. Sri

    January 22, 2010 at 9:51 am

    I liked the movie. I would have hyped it, if not for the hype I went with.
    Very funny for most part.I thought they over did on the melodrama.

     

Leave a Reply

 
