RSS

Blog This and That

11 Feb

Colleagues ran out of their cubicles assuming it was an earthquake on hearing me doing cartwheels.I might be small built, but when it comes to cartwheeling , other than handling lime and spoon, I am the girl. OK.. OK.. I am not good at cartwheels, but one has to improvise when there are no limes or spoons around. So,what is this build up for… . You may ask. I got this message in mail yesterday.

The new rank for your blog The Duo Interpretation is now 60.

Let me explain…This is from a group called Indibloggers , in which I registered our blog some months back. I saw these rankings displayed on various blogs and out of curiosity, registered mine.I am assuming it is a bunch of guys who look at your hits,frequency of your posts, your ranking, your comments and come up with some statistical analysis and publish.Our blog does not have a theme, very few people know it, very few comment though they read the posts and I definitely don’t spend much time on it.Writing is not my passion or profession either.I am not one of those persons who can claim they write just because they love writing. I don’t.Even as a child,I participated in elocution/speech competitions , never in essay writing.I hated the “what you did during your summer holidays” customary essays at school. I like talking( read it arguing) about any subject, but am really lazy when it comes to putting it in pen and paper.Typing is easier and so I blog.


When the stats talked about google rank, I was amazed that our blog even had a rank. A look at the hits and the reason became obvious. Yes, it is the usage of the word “Sex” in two posts that brought in most of the googlers. Especially ,”belur, halebid,sex”. Boom! My very simple post on Belur gets all the credit for the google ranking.Lets face it. The one domain that humans are well known for is reproduction other than being on the top of the food chain.Now that I have written sex twice in this post..we should be rolling..oops, that made it thrice. Most probably,out of curiosity, I know that everyone who reads this post will type in those words in google. Thank you.All izzz well.


In case you are still wondering, no, I did not cartwheel. I have been blogging since Oct 2005. I started with, http://am-kicking.blogspot.com , which became a group blog over time.Started Suroba last year. My interests are in cooking, politics,books, movies, sports,music and rants. Yes, I love to sing a song, while reading a book,imagining the character on TV and rant about how bad the book is written. I am the perfect example of an Indian who doesn’t know what she is good at and presumes she is excellent at everything. And my blog follows the same pattern, more or less.


I have a lot of friends and since blogging was not new, I tried not to follow the “I scratch your back, you scratch mine” policy to get more comments. But, comments are always good to have as it opens up conversations and you get to know others who share similar thoughts. That said, blogging world has its own fraternities.


Foodies – People who post lots of recipes , from simple curries to complicated pastries. Interestingly, most of them are females though I would think around 70% of the top chefs in the world are males. Being the health fanatic and a connoisseur of most foods, I love browsing them.
Audio bloggers– who post their songs and share criticism. It is kind of eerie listening to the same song, sung by so many different people.
Humorous Writers – Humor cannot be forced. There are various types of humor. I have bumped into a few really good ones, where one plays with the words, more of a PGW style,including my friend Saumya’s. There are others which can be understood only by a few, those who are aware of the context. An example would be spoofing bollywood or writing with a linguistic connotation. Actually, I sympathize these bloggers. Just to follow the theme, unless humor oozes out of every pore in their body, they are forced to be humorous in every post.
Specific Themers( I like to call them that) – People who write about feminism,woman’s rights,movies,latest songs, specific cities, states, humanity …you get the gist.

The common trend in all of the above is that there is a theme behind those blogs. Be it movies, music, food or humor. And, they gel into their fraternities by commenting in the right blogs, inviting people to visit.

Then, there are blogs like mine, which has no theme. For someone who doesn’t belong to any fraternity, 60 is not too bad, I suppose. No,I am not going to publish it in my website. It is just a statistic.

So, please go to google and type “you know what” and let me do my cartwheels.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2010 in General

 

7 responses to “Blog This and That

  1. Sujatha

    February 14, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    I’m in the same boat as you Shoba – writing about a whole bunch of non-theme related stuff. And my top search terms it seems like are “coorg sex” and “hairy indians”. LOL!

     
    • shoba

      February 15, 2010 at 10:40 pm

      Maybe, we should proclaim that our theme is “No Theme”. 🙂

       
  2. Sri

    February 16, 2010 at 10:27 am

    I don’t know about “no theme”. I am suspecting a underlying “sex” theme due to high hit rate 🙂

    I enjoy the varying themes you write. Keep writing.

     
  3. Saumya

    February 16, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Hey Shoba.

    Do you see those gashes on my cheeks? I think it is caused by the huge grin on my face. Thank you.

    I really enjoy your blogs. No theme is your theme – rock on girl!

     
    • shoba

      February 16, 2010 at 4:34 pm

      Saumya,

      You owe me one.. 🙂

       
  4. Hema

    February 19, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    ” Theme” or ” no theme “, the essence is that it is an interesting read every time. Its like the Haldiram’s ” ‘All-in-one” mixture. It has the traditional mixture, with the ‘chow-chow” added to it, some dry fruits and the nuts and a pinch of that tangy taste maker and yo, it is yummy! And I love it.

     
    • shoba

      February 22, 2010 at 11:48 am

      Thank you for loving it..

       

Leave a Reply

 
