RSS

Teenagerized

15 Feb

Over the weekend, we attended a Tamil light music concert by a local bay area troupe.It was a tribute to Ilayaraja, so quite a few songs were from the 80s. Melodious, awesome ones. We were humming for most of the songs and singing quite a few of them too. When they sang “Nila Adhu Vanatha Mele“( A song from the movie Nayakan), both Suresh and I were singing the whole song, not missing even one single line. I don’t remember many details from my school days, but I remember every single lyric of that song. I was in 8th grade when the movie was released and remember singing that song day in and day out.

Isn’t it interesting how the brain/mind works? It is what we perceive as a teenager that stays in our mind. Most of us think that the songs from our teenage era are the best ones. No wonder people were criticizing the latest “Mile Sur Mera Tumhara”. We didn’t have much options then and whatever we heard, sounded really good including mile sur mera tumhara in various languages, and everyone sang all the lines in bengali, malayalam, kannada ,tamil ,hindi without even understanding maybe. The present day youngsters have too many options, songs , channels to watch and I am not sure if the “Phir Mile Sur Mera Tumhara” will ever stay in their mind. If it does, I assume they might actually like watching Vikram and Surya over Kamal and Deepika Padukone over Sharmila Tagore.

Madhavan, the actor is currently touring here, visiting various states for different events helping charity organizations. When he visited the bay area, I dragged Suresh into attending the “Coffee with Madhavan” event and was thrilled to sit in the front seat. The program was very good with my only grouse being that I couldn’t take a photo with him. My envy was kindled on seeing my dear friend K doing the same when she was not even a Madhavan fan and didn’t care one way or other, though it has waned now as I see facebook full of girls hugging Madhavan. 🙂 On mentioning this to a volunteer friend of mine, she was flabbergasted at my reaction. She knows I don’t usually care much for any celebrity unless he/she is a big time philanthropist or genuinely helps charities.And I said, “It is a teenage crush thing .A tiny flame is still lingering.” The one that makes you like any good looking guy in television including Maddy in Banegi Apni Baat,Sharukh in Faugi and Arvind Swamy in the Leo Coffee AD.
AH ! TO BE A TEENAGER..

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2010 in Life Philosophical Thought

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Teenagerized

  1. Saumya

    February 16, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Ahh…you hit the right note on that one! I was actually upset seeing Arvind Samy like this

    – Google Aravind SWamy latest photos. Come on! When our teenage jollus become like this, it reminds us that we are aging, and that isn’t good!

     
    • shoba

      February 16, 2010 at 4:29 pm

      I know..I know.. Don’t even want to go there…

       
  2. Sri

    February 17, 2010 at 11:00 am

    I agree. All those interesting late 80s early 90ss songs and movies are vivid in my memory too.

    With respect to following the actor part, guys seems to move ahead to new(younger) heroines. I “appreciate” deepika padkone as much as I did Madhuri in early 90s. (well that is in our DNA I guess 🙂 )

     
    • shoba

      February 17, 2010 at 5:31 pm

      Yes.Heroes just get older and still act, where as there is always a burst of new heroines every decade… A Sexist field, IMO..
      Hmmmm… Sigh ! You enjoy.. 🙂

       
  3. Hema

    February 19, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    You are right! The songs that I can hum instantly are only the ones that I listened to as a teenager. Cant forget all the songs that both of us would sing for hours and master.( Ok..I used to be a Teenager that time…but you were a ‘vaandu’:-)). ” Kanne kalai maane”…” chippi irukkuthu..mutthum irrukutthu” , ” Paruvame…”, ” Nela athu vaanathumele’ to name a few.
    And I stretch it a bit far i think, coz, even now, when someone asks me to sing, the first song that hits me is ” unnai onru ketpen..!!):-)

     
    • shoba

      February 22, 2010 at 11:48 am

      How can we forget “unnai onru ketpen”. I still have the tapes and DVDs of us singing those songs..

       

Leave a Reply

 
