RSS

A request…

17 Mar

A sign outside my cubicle , for anyone who wants to invite me out for lunch.

Thank you for inviting me out. Now, before you attempt to find out what cuisine I like , here are a few conditions you need to know about me being a vegetarian.

1. Being vegetarian is natural to me. I don’t have to make extra effort and so, please don’t WOW me.

2. Anything that moves and has to be killed is not vegetarian in my books and that includes sea food.

3. If you want to know if that includes fish and shrimp, please refer to #2 and YES! NO SEA FOOD.

4.Please don’t worry about my protein intake. I can shake it, munch it, take it raw.
Meat is not the only source of protein.

5. I know what your next question is. Yes, it is religious and I have never tasted meat in my life. Ever.

6. Vegetarian includes diary. What you are thinking is called Vegan.

7. Vegetarian does not mean I eat only salads. Indian cooking is full of vegetables cooked in different curries. And, NO! THERE IS NO SINGLE CURRY POWDER. It is a mixture of various spices.

8.No, I don’t eat from a plate which has chicken in it. Even if you remove the chicken.

9.Don’t expect to go to a regular restaurant with no veg options and expect me to eat ceasar’s salad.I don’t want to feed on lettuce leaves and starve.

10.No, I don’t feel offended if you eat meat, just don’t put it in my plate.

Yes, I have already told this to you a ZILLION times,but why, oh why do you have to ask me the same questions every time we talk about food.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2010 in General, Humor.. or not?

 

Tags: ,

16 responses to “A request…

  1. Manohar

    March 17, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Lol!!

     
  2. Saumya

    March 17, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Very funny Shoba! I am laughing 🙂

     
  3. yaadayaada

    March 25, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Been there, done all that. By the way Ceaser salad dressing have anchovy paste. So I stay from it as well. 😦

     
    • shoba

      March 25, 2010 at 12:14 pm

      Really!! Didn’t know Ceaser had Anchovy..

      And thanks for stopping by.

       
  4. sachita

    March 25, 2010 at 11:38 am

    oops, never required any of this in Bay area! Here, I have always worked in places which have alteast 30% Indians:) On the other hand, had to convince my grad school advisor that not all Indians are vegetarians.

     
    • shoba

      March 25, 2010 at 12:15 pm

      I work and live in the bay area too. One of the few who works in a non-Indian majority company, I guess. 🙂

      And about the Google reader, its a trick to make sure people visit the blog instead of just reading it in the reader.. 😉 😉 Actually, it is a setting thing. You can either allow the reader to feed the whole blog or a snippet. 🙂

       
      • yaadayaada

        March 26, 2010 at 9:29 am

        I live in bay area too. That doesn’t help. And yes, they do pain the non-veg Indians by taking them only to veg restaurant. So I guess, the rest of the world is just confused about Indians and their eating habits

         
  5. sachita

    March 25, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Hey, why do your blog posts only partially appear in google reader?

     
  6. Hema

    March 26, 2010 at 5:31 am

    Mam,
    Will pure tasty vegetarian stuff cooked in pork fat ( which you just cant make out it is) fall under your edible category or not?

     
  7. Sri

    March 30, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    LOL!

    Here are the “questions” I have faced from people who are offended that I am calling myself a vegetarian
    (mainly when I was in India)
    Do you eat egg?
    How about mushroom?
    How about yeast/fungi?
    Isn’t milk cow’s blood?

     
    • shoba

      March 30, 2010 at 3:47 pm

      How about curd? Aren’t we eating live bacteria? I don’t think they die when we eat them. They actually settle and live happily in the intestines..Atleast, that is my explanation. 🙂
      Suresh keeps on saying , on seeing my Kefir grains growing to enormous amounts, “Kuzhandingala valarakara madhiri, paal pottu kefir bacteria va valarthuttu irruka.” 🙂

       
  8. Deepak

    April 22, 2010 at 1:12 am

    Good one!!!…. 🙂 Surprised you still get asked these question in the Bay Area

     
    • shoba

      April 22, 2010 at 1:43 pm

      Yes, Deepak. People still do , not everywhere but in companies where there are not many Indians.

       
  9. chinkurli

    April 29, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    I don’t get it this bad, since I live in India. Just a watered down version, thankfully!

     
  10. Swaram

    May 5, 2010 at 12:10 am

    LOL ..I cn so relate to his post and copy-paste the whole thing. Wonder y ppl even feel sorry just bcoz I am vegetarian hmmpf!

     

Leave a Reply

 
