RSS

Happy Birthday To Me

02 Apr

Yes, Today is my birthday. Not the original, but the official one.

It all started fairly simple. I was not yet 5 years old , but was ready to be admitted to 1st grade. You would be mistaken if you thought I knew my ABCDs or 123s. I had honed the art of getting on my mother’s nerves and so was ready for school.The humongous task was given to my two elder sisters. One was in 11th grade and the other one in her 6th grade. Off went the two, to a private school in Trichy, where the faces were familiar as the aforementioned duo had studied there previously and decided to register me for 1st grade. Getting admitted into a school was not as tough then as it is now, but there was a golden rule that the student should be at least 5 years old. Birthday being in September, I was barely 4 1/2 and so, the duo decided to go against all moral principles and lie. The task at hand seemed more important than truth. Since the criteria was that one had to be 5 by June, the sisters ran to a corner,discussed in hushed tones , decided to give some leverage and came up with April 1st. Now , knowing they were fooling the school management , assuming it would be too blatant , they changed it to April 2nd. People trusted kids then and no one asked for a birth certificate and just registered “Shoba” , a definite 5 year old .

Two things happened on that day. My birthday became April 2nd and my name changed from “Shobha” to “Shoba”. Being in TN,knowing how names can be translated really bad, I should be thankful that it didn’t change to “Soba” or worst “Sofa”. “Shobha” is a nice name and again, I would have to thank the duo for that too. Being the youngest, parents lost interest in finding a name and the sisters decided that their little sister should be called “Shobha”.

Thank you sisters, for giving me my name and for deciding not to have my birthday on April Fool’s Day. Whew!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2010 in General, Humor.. or not?

 

14 responses to “Happy Birthday To Me

  1. sachita

    April 2, 2010 at 10:57 am

    child’s dream of two birthdays in a year fulfiled then:)
    My Dad had a similar story for his younger brother. but that was in late 50s/early 60s!

     
    • shoba

      April 5, 2010 at 4:41 pm

      Sachita,
      As you might have seen from the other comments, it was quite common in “Hamara Bharath Mahan” 🙂

       
  2. Manohar

    April 2, 2010 at 11:56 am

    Hey me too… my official b’day is sep 25.

     
    • shoba

      April 5, 2010 at 9:41 am

      Hey, But that is Sri’s birth date. Cool…

       
      • Nourish-n-Cherish

        April 5, 2010 at 3:56 pm

        But Sri’s offical birthday is 25th May!

         
        • shoba

          April 5, 2010 at 4:42 pm

          Ha ha… Enna oru complications..:-)
          Btw, Mano, I don’t see why you would change the date from Dec to September. Before June makes sense.

           
  3. Hema

    April 3, 2010 at 10:27 am

    Hey, Happy birthday Shoba! I had almost forgotten about this. Reading this brings fond memories about Mahatma Gandhi School.The Principal then was Mr.Venkatraman.Was a grand old man. Btw, you did know your ABCD and 123s by that time. There was a preamble to this school.We had put you in the Agnes English school.It used to be just one room. One half was LKG and the other half was UKG. The kids would get all confused and I guess you were always listening to the other teacher!
    You could rattle away a string of syllables in a sing song voice, that sounded something like ABCD..:-))
    All of us were lucky that Mr.Venkatraman was fascinated by the faces of the three sisters and gave you a seat without asking you a question!

     
    • Nourish-n-Cherish

      April 5, 2010 at 4:01 pm

      Isn’t it ironic that you had to lie to get into Mahatma Gandhi School 🙂 This is amazing.

       
  4. Uma

    April 4, 2010 at 9:33 am

    Hi Sis,

    I still remember how we got you into Mahatma Gandhi. Remember the principal Venkatram iyer? Pattu miss, Baby miss, Janaki miss?? Nostalgic memories.

    Today i have to fight for a seat for my daughter and hope that she gets a seat, based on my qualifications, not hers!!

    Love you

     
  5. Indu

    April 5, 2010 at 1:11 am

    I loved this article. Mine also same case. I dint know my b’day was on 12-feb till my 10th std. I came to know, when my teacher wanted to verify everyone’s b’day for SSLC. I told her that was not my b’day and came with my true birth certificate which stated my b’day was 5-sep. Then my teacher said I can change ur b’day, but u can write ur SSLC next year. Thats it. I just shut my mouth and admitted my DOB as 12-feb even though I do like my original b’day which is a teacher’s day:)

     
    • shoba

      April 5, 2010 at 9:45 am

      Indu,
      Thanks for stopping by my blog. I am sure many of us will have a similar tale..

       
  6. shoba

    April 5, 2010 at 9:44 am

    @Hema,
    OK!! So, I did know something. That’s a relief 🙂

    @Uma, Hema,
    I still remember Mr.Venkatraman ( principal thatha). He was a terror then, actually and would ask me about my sisters whenever he bumped into me in the corridor.

    @Uma,
    Thanks for commenting finally, Akka.

     
    • Hema

      April 6, 2010 at 10:29 am

      And hey, now I know how you learnt your Hindi although you took Tamil as your second language!!
      The neighbouring building to MGCV was ” Hindi Prachar Sabha”
      And guess whom my little was sis listening to during the language classes?! Hi hi hi…old habits die hard..

       

Leave a Reply

 
