RSS

Sweep stake

14 May

You know the feeling of elation one feels on seeing a mail that says, “YOU HAVE WON THE SWEEP STAKE of 1 MILLION DOLLARS”.

Seriously! I get the feeling whenever Fathers (visiting from India)talk about America. I am happy and proud that I own America, which included Bush till 2008 and now , the ever charming Obama. Definitely, a feeling of elation mixed with apprehensions ‘coz you know it can never be true, you are never winning that one million dollars but still you defend for it.

If US is good at something, it starts with ” In this country, USA, …..”

If the perception says US is the culprit , it goes, ” In your America,…”

When I took the oath of allegiance, I had a small tug at my heart and felt really bad for a couple of days , but knowing that my dual citizenship is on the way, I settled down. But, the constant reminding that I own America and my consistent defense for my adopted county makes me think in different angles. Heck ! Being forced to defend Bush is a double whammy.

Yes, we need these visitors from India to show us all the different perspectives about this country.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2010 in General

 

5 responses to “Sweep stake

  1. Manohar

    May 18, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    >If US is good at something, it starts with ” In this country, USA, …..”
    >If the perception says US is the culprit , it goes, ” In your America,…”

    Very true!

     
  2. saumya

    May 19, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Manu hit it on the head!

     
  3. saumya

    May 19, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    BTW, bayangarama irukku template 🙂

     
    • shoba

      May 19, 2010 at 2:31 pm

      What did Manu hit? Escoose me, I made those statements. Manu acknowledged it.

      Template.. pathale, adhurudhula.. 🙂 I wanted to have a dark background , but this template might be just a transition and might mostly change.

       
  4. hema

    May 21, 2010 at 9:34 am

    hey, koncham confusion..do you own America or does America own you?

     

Leave a Reply

 
