RSS

I write like Shoba..

14 Jul

I bumped into this web page and decided to find out who I write like. All one has to do, is cut paste a text from their writings and find out which famous writer is their comrade-in-writing. I sampled a few of my blog posts and ended with a different writer every time. Intriguing, huh??

My blog post about sisters and memories yielded

I write like
Jane Austen

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

My blog post about Gods yielded

I write like
Dan Brown

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

Just for heck of it, I tested with my post which had more Tamil words and it landed me with

I write like
Kurt Vonnegut

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

I tried with the only fiction I wrote, though it was not a horror, but I still got to butt heads with

I write like
Stephen King

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

I tried my blog post written in a lighter note , jotted with sisters and memories, hoping to hit Jane Austen again, but alas,

I write like
Douglas Adams

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

Another try … with my request for being a vegetarian,

I write like
James Joyce

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

Finally, Bingo !!, if writing in Tamil yielded “Kurt Vonnegut”, I assumed anything international will do and tried pasting my “Maus Book Review“and voila…

I write like
Kurt Vonnegut

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

So, shall I say I write like “Kurt Vonnegut” , whose book I have not read even once.

Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. (pronounced /ˈvɒnɨɡət/; November 11, 1922 – April 11, 2007) was an American novelist who wrote works blending satire, black comedy, and science fiction.

No wonder my “Cinnamon vs Chinnaman” had similarities with him.

PS: I copied the above text and analyzed it again , which came back with the only obvious result

I write like
Kurt Vonnegut

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

There, I rest my case.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2010 in General

 

6 responses to “I write like Shoba..

  1. SK

    July 14, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Hahah, I tried this one too. Very funny, although not so accurate. Who is Kurt Vonnegut?

     
  2. Saumya

    July 15, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    I got a whole bunch of authors I haven’t read! Fun though

     
  3. shoba

    July 15, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    @SK,
    Kurt Vonnegut is obviously some well-known author, just not known to us. 🙂

     
  4. hema

    July 16, 2010 at 2:37 am

    Hey, I tried this.I got 3 different authors for different passages from the same post.Ha ha!! Cool…

     
  5. Sri

    July 16, 2010 at 11:34 am

    Couple of my writings(??) matched with David Foster Wallace
    Conclusion: David Wallace writes like me. Well,
    since I haven’t read him and I am mostly sure he hasn’t read me.. it is a tie whether he writes like me or I write like him 🙂

    I removed a paragraph in the same article and found my writing matching Stephen king.
    Conclusion: Stephen king writes like David Foster Wallace but writes less

    I am posting comment quickly to this post
    Conclusion: My ego (about my work?) makes me comment quickly

     
    • shoba

      July 16, 2010 at 6:11 pm

      Ah!! David Foster Wallace… Not that I know him, but the software gave his name when I cut&paste a paragraph from PGW novel.. Go figure :roll:

      And, of course, he writes like you , Sri and I say this with confidence as I have not read him.. LOL.. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
