RSS

Concerts galore

13 Sep

Bery Bery Busy Beekend. Two concerts.First one, a fund raiser , which needed lot of planning as I was part of the MC team. Played by a local bay area band ,Ilayaragam. Flawless rendition and a night to remember, not just because of the songs, but also the money raised. From the time I have MC’ed for the Cancer Institute Foundation,this is a first, where lot of people came forward and donated. Pure Bliss. Feels good.

The second concert, was our own ARR… My friend K, who took me to the show, likes being ontime for any appointment ( read that as 1.5 hours before time 😀 ) and there we were, outside the arena, shivering at the entrance,though not long,thanks to K’s friends who had a booth.As for the concert…..Pure entertainment, though we didn’t recognize any of the singers except for ARR & Hariharan. Found that the shaved head was Benny Dayal this morning and also that the Shaan look alike was Jay Prakash from Hosanna fame. Very poor GK!! My only saving grace was that K ,who accompanied me had a slightly lower GK than me,making me swell in pride for knowing most of the songs. Rahman has grown and come out of his shell. Good for him!! We were sitting so far away that most of what they talked on stage sounded like some gibberish , making me and K fill in the words with our own nonsense… You can have fun even with gibberish and poor audio, I tell you. Its all in the mind. The couple of young ,good looking girls who sang “Nanna re” were awesome.It is tough to sing and dance at the same time. As K put it, ” You cannot look beautiful, dance and sing like that at the same time. Thats an unforgivable crime.” 😀 ARR started the show with “O Saya” , immediately followed by “Adhiradi dhaan” from Shivaji. Quite a few Tamil numbers, adding to lot of people’s jubiliation. Just wished Hari sang more.

A weekend to remember, lots of fun. Has to be….if I can take time off from work and type this blog, all with a splitting headache.. Yes, a weekend to remember..

And Oh!! if you want any details about the actor Ganesh Venkatraman( Arif Khan from Unnai Pol Oruvan & the sardar in Abhiyum Naanum) including his height and weight, ping me as I tried to learn as much as I could, to introduce and talk about him to others during our CIF event,as he was a special guest. About my photos with him….a blog post soon to follow with some photos.. All that happened, warrants a seperate blog of its own.Stay tuned.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2010 in General

 

18 responses to “Concerts galore

  1. Saumya

    September 13, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    Yeppity Yep Yep! I felt really proud that I knew most of the songs selected by Ilayaragam. itself 🙂

    CIF was good – you are awesome to work with Shoba.

     
  2. Praveen

    September 13, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    Any videos? 🙂

     
  3. Praveen

    September 13, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Vijay Prakash not Jay Prakash 🙂

     
    • shoba

      September 13, 2010 at 9:44 pm

      OK..you got me there 🙂 And I know your GK is way up there.. 🙂

      Actually, my friends have shared some awesome photos in facebook. Unfortunately, I can share it only in facebook and not here. Let me see, if I can find something.

       
  4. shoba

    September 13, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Check this link. I am not sure if it is public

    http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=439585988005&ref=mf

     
    • Praveen

      September 13, 2010 at 9:49 pm

      This video either has been removed from Facebook or is not visible due to privacy settings.

      Never mind.
      I had done a on Vijay Prakash

       
      • shoba

        September 13, 2010 at 9:58 pm

        Ada de !! Namma mannina magaa..na.. !! Would have cheered even louder if I had known.. And that too, he has sung such awesome songs.. Thanks for improving my GK, Praveen.. 🙂

         
  5. SK

    September 13, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    Whoa! I missed Saaral. And ARR Concert. Tch, next time. :–)

     
    • shoba

      September 13, 2010 at 10:12 pm

      Come on, SK !! You are in the bay area… We have Saaral every year. Will let you know ahead next year.Well, you have your events with AID, I guess.

       
  6. karthi

    September 16, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    our mission for finding the perfect parking spot was one for the annals 🙂 🙂
    had so much fun.

     
    • shoba

      September 16, 2010 at 10:21 pm

      Karthi,
      Our parking spot deserves a separate blog post, me thinks.. 🙂 I was recounting it to Suresh, while laughing continuously.. 🙂

       
  7. sachita

    September 16, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    was quite disappointed with ARR concert especially compared to last time. But your mannina magaa was good. and our thalaivar rahman was also good:)

     
    • shoba

      September 16, 2010 at 10:29 pm

      I agree.. Last time was way better. This time, it was more of Rahman singing.. I think they tried to make it look like other concerts here.

       
  8. yaadayaada

    September 17, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    Didn’t know about Saaral! Add me to your list as well! Missed ARR this time! 😦

     
  9. yaadayaada

    September 17, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    How can I forget! You met with Ganesh Venkatraman. I am going green! Whatz with people around me rubbing elbows with Pierce Brosnon, Karthi, and now Ganesh Venkatraman. No fair!

     
    • karthi

      September 19, 2010 at 7:57 pm

      i don’t think i belong in a list of celebrities. i am just an ave joe i mean jill.

       
  10. shoba

    September 19, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    @Karthi,
    Nennappu pozhapa kedukum.. LOL 🙂 🙂 🙂
    If I am not mistaken,Yaadayaada meant Surya’s brother Karthik and not you. LOL.

     
    • karthi

      September 19, 2010 at 11:49 pm

      npk never applies to me, you know that.
      that was my 1st thought (after all i jst watched his movie) as in surya’s bro. but then when did you meet him? that is why i went hmmph n huh! – really, me.
      now if this were fb i wld go & delete my message 🙂 can u?

      between happy b’day 🙂 call you tmrw. i may go for a niners/saints game tmrw.

       

Leave a Reply

 
