RSS

One more take, Saar..

19 Sep

Hey, if not that guy, why not this one?? “Oru Madhavan illa na, oru Ganesh Venkatraman. They are both handsome after all.” and so went my thoughts when it was decided that he will be a surprise guest for our light music event,as he is currently shooting here. Thus started my journey of trying to take a decent photograph with this guy, though I never knew about him till then. Lets call him GV.

Take #1 ( The day before):
Being the MC, had to meet him on Friday, to explain our cause and give some notes. Very professional till the last minute, when I prompted someone to take a photo in my Iphone, in front of some 10 random people ,with an awkward expression, “This is for my niece.” Did I say he is really young?? Sigh! He posed with a tired smile.

Take #2( On the stage):
I was literally waiting on my toes for GV’s arrival , as things were getting delayed and we were nearing the break. To my credit, photograph was not in my mind then, though I had Suresh ready with the canon rebel xsi.This warrants some history. Suresh and I play a cat and mouse game , when it comes to stage photography. Either the lighting is not right or the photographer is in the wrong position or I am not still and posing, while talking in the mike.Yeah!! You heard it right. Won’t it be easy if we could just stand there and pose.Anyway, a determined Suresh was ready for the show this time, when alas he had to leave the auditorium for volunteering efforts.The task was handed over to S, a very good friend, whose photography skills can be relied up on …or not. Have you heard of the saying that a picture can speak a thousand words.. I present you with three thousand words.. you be the judge

In case you are a california resident and start wondering if there was an earthquake and how you might have missed it , rest assured, there was none. Assuming we were walking around too fast on the stage, the third one, which was taken when GV walked down and we were just standing around, really beats me.. I am sure the photographer had some trick idea in his mind. Just what, I don’t know…

Take #3:
S, fully satisfied and patting himself on a job well done, went out to have dinner. Myself and Saumya were gaurding GV , while he was interacting with the audience. Iphones, Samsungs and blackberries came out, people clicking to glory, which was mostly husbands taking photographs of their wives with GV. 🙂 I had this gut feeling that S did not do a good job and so , we were frantically trying to reach him as he was the …ahem…camera man.. Saumya, being the resourceful Bharathiya Nari, fished out her iphone, looked at GV and said,”Hey Ganesh, stay still. Let me get one click with Shoba.” To his credit, he didn’t flinch and posed. Meanwhile, I asked another friend with an Iphone, to click one, as a backup.

Take #4:
With messages being sent via various people to all corners of the auditorium ,S was finally located and he came running with the camera. Feeling awkward, especially as I was telling everyone that the photo session was over , while steering GV back , I feigned nonchalance and said ” Hey G, I think that guy wants to take a photo. Can you please oblige him.” . Here comes the next thousand words,

S says he was standing on something wobbly… do you believe it?

Take #5:
Just before GV was leaving and we were all thanking him, S came huffing and puffing, followed Saumya’s tactics, fished out his Iphone and asked GV to pose with me once more. By then , I was blushing as I am way beyond my teenage years and damn! it does feel odd to ask for photographs. But, he clicked and grinned ear to ear, saying, ” My best photo of the day”. Little did I realize that he really meant it then.

STEVE JOBS AND CREW!! THANK YOU FOR THE IPHONE.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2010 in General

 

8 responses to “One more take, Saar..

  1. karthi

    September 19, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    these pics are beyond awful even for an amateur like me 🙂 but then they make you smile. kudos to the camera man/woman.

    you said the evening was beyond perfect with all your goals being met. everyone knows however well though & planned, when it comes to big events something has to go wrong. thankfully it was just the photos in your case.

    both MC’s look gorgeous. ganesh is just overshadowing them on the height department. where is the stool when you need one?

     
    • shoba

      September 19, 2010 at 10:44 pm

      Ha ! Karthi! He was towering over everyone, actually… I guess I should have carried a stool around, just incase.. LOL 🙂
      You are so right, it was just the photos… 😀 . Luckily, he made it just in time. It was nail biting climax, back stage. Even a few minutes late, we would have had a tough time. And the money raised actually made my day and of course, the four different photos in four different iphones… 🙂 🙂

       
  2. nourishncherish

    September 20, 2010 at 11:25 am

    My Gosh! That really was funny 🙂 Not a single pic was ok – A new artform created by my husband – motion blur photography!

     
    • shoba

      September 20, 2010 at 2:51 pm

      Sariya sonna… Ask him to file a patent before someone else copies it.. 🙄 😀

       
  3. SK

    September 22, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    Whoa! Nice!
    Although I dontknow this guy.
    What is this world coming to, me not knowing this handsome hunk :–S

    Man! I should have come to Saaral. I could have met both of you hmm.

     
    • Saumya

      September 23, 2010 at 10:35 am

      Yes SK – that would have been nice 🙂
      BTW, I had not heard of this guy till I was told he was the ‘star’ !

       
      • shoba

        September 24, 2010 at 2:58 pm

        SK,
        He is an upcoming star, I believe. He has won awards for both the movies in which he acted. And, definitely dashing. Gladrags Winner..

         
  4. A-kay

    October 5, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    I didn’t know about this dude till I saw the post on Saumya’s blog as well… Eppadi iruntha naan, eppadi aaiten 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
