RSS

Veg Dilemma

13 Nov

When I came to the US, I was very intrigued by Zucchini. Went through the same cycle as every Indian and assumed it to be cucumber, only to realize that there was nothing cuckoo about it, just plain Houdini. I stir fry it, grill it, sambar it , poriyal it..well..u name it. Houdini is a magician and magic becomes stale after a few shows, say what? Let me…
We visited Greece couple of weeks back, for Suresh’s participation in the historic Athens classic marathon. Athens was very much like Banglore,similar roads, lot of two wheeler traffic and people jumping lights. Awesome ! Made me homesick. If everything feels like home, why not the food ?? For some reason, Grecians think Zucchini will be liked by every single vegetarian. A fail safe concept. No, the king of vegetables, eggplant(aka brinjal) has his share as well. One needs to keep the king happy, after all. Most of the menu cards had English translation ,which on translated, read

( list contains vegetarian only due to the author’s lack of knowledge in meat dishes)
APPETIZER

1. Grilled vegetables ( Zucchini, Egglplant and Peppers)

2. Steamed vegetables( Zucchini and Peppers)

3. Eggplant Salad ( Blended eggplant and yogurt sauce)

4. Spinach Pie

The Main course did not have anything worth mentioning for a vegetarian.

Five days, for lunch and dinner, I had one of the above, except for the last day when the Chef made me cry with some steamed Beans… Yes, God exists !!

The food was not great,but it was fun..

Runners from Suresh’s running group, post-race dinner..I took the photo while digesting my Spinach Pie.

Greek dance at the restaurant

 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2010 in General

 

12 responses to “Veg Dilemma

  1. Praveen

    November 13, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    Athens is on my wish list now.
    Looks like B’lore eh?

     
    • shoba

      November 13, 2010 at 9:23 pm

      Yep!! The roads are slightly better, though. Things kinda look similar , because the country is old, just like ours.Lot of closely stacked apartments.
      And, you have to visit the country just for the history.. I will post some photos. Many monuments from B.C. era.. The land of aristotle, plato, socrates,Hippocrates.

       
  2. Sachu Kichu

    November 13, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    Greece was always on my list along with italy more than paris now you shot of killed it.

    Greek food here in bay area is tolerable, no?

     
    • shoba

      November 13, 2010 at 9:28 pm

      OK Sachu, who is Kichu?? πŸ™‚
      You are so right!! I like Greek food in bay area. πŸ™„
      Go figure!
      Have you had Vegetable Musaka at the “THEA” restaurant in Santana Row. Awesome!! I couldn’t get vegetarian musaka at Athens 😦 And, somehow, we found the food bland.
      I fell in love with Paris, but nothing to beat Greece history. So, please don’t take it out from your list. I will follow with some more posts, with nice photos.

       
  3. Manohar

    November 13, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    I definitely can’t survive in Greece then. 4 days of zucchini/eggplant, now I know why you were ecstatic about curd rice on coming back πŸ™‚

     
  4. Saumya

    November 13, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Ha! I was actually shocked because I thought you would be partying on humus , tzaziki, falafel and greek wraps. No more zuccu’s in your home for a while I take it.

     
    • Saumya

      November 13, 2010 at 11:28 pm

      BTW, greece looks awesome – my list is growing. I’d better start travelling or prune the list.

       
  5. SK

    November 15, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    How did you miss hummus/tahini and falafels? Or is it more Israeli?

    Btw running the classic marathon.. is just uber awesome! :–)

     
  6. Suresh

    November 15, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    Talking about food, following came to my mind. Shoba & I were wandering aimlessly when this guy who stood in front of a roadside eatery asking us to have food in their place.. We gently refused with a smile, when he started uttering “Shahrukh khan…Preity Zinta…”, hoping to attract our attention… That was quite funny…:)

     
  7. Suresh

    November 15, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    To be fair, the food in greece was pretty good. I thought that the spice was a little lower than what we got here. But, it had very good flavor… The smell of hummus/pita/meat combo along with a not-so-spicy (read bland) was not tolerable after the first couple of days, even to me…

     
  8. karthi

    November 23, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    can’t wait to see the pictures

     
  9. sachita

    December 2, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Shoba,
    I have some travel related questions how do I contact u:)?

     

Leave a Reply

 
