RSS

When did it change?

14 Jun

We know it is just an art. Plain paper and ink, modified into a monkey with a mace and a man with bows and arrows, endowed with a very feminine face. A stone, sculpted to look like a female, holding a veena. For the guy who painted /sculpted, it was just yet another poster/stone and does not signify God. For others, it becomes irreverent. The morphing takes place somewhere in between.

We moved last week with all the photos of various deities(supposedly) in a cardboard box. When the time came for their settlement in the new house, a new bookcase was bought, just to fit them all in, especially the newly gifted Gold plated ones. The gold makes them even more good looking and pious, I assume. While being arranged by MIL, you could see the gold was in the forefront and others taking a slight back seat. It is not just the gold, it is the fancy of the new. Like when we get a new dress. I am sure my Hanuman was feeling bad till I saved the day for him, by requesting him to be brought to the forefront. And once morphed into these photos of deities, it is tough to throw them out. I have age old calendars with deity photos and ‘n’ number of Ganesha idols, that can never be thrown into the garbage.

I have never been able to read the “Kandha Sashti” ( a tamil shloka on Lord subramania) without laughing out loud and yet I read the Hanuman Chalisa whenever I can. When I visited Shirdi, after all the hustling and jostling, I got to see baba’s statue and felt very foolish. It is the same marble sculpture as the one in Santa Clara, except that Shirdi was where he died. I felt even more so, when I bought some prasad in one of the stores there. My instincts did not let me eat them. It was just some sugar cubes, the way I look at it.

We can believe in a super natural power or not. I call God’s grace the thread of hope by which we hang during moments of helplessness. And we are conditioned for that from childhood.My shirdi baba, hanuman, raghavendra,ganapathy and all the multitudes of photos will still be worshipped once a week,despite knowing that they are only photos. And I will continue wearing the red thread on my wrist.Confused? Yes. Agnostic? No.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2010 in Life Philosophical Thought

 

5 responses to “When did it change?

  1. SK

    June 15, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Interesting thoughts. You are brave to pen them onto paper. Many are not.

     
  2. Sri

    June 15, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    Hanuman gave you the strength to defend him.

    You nicely put your thoughts in this blog. I agree with SK’s comment. Not may would put them in writing especially if they are believers.

    For all the questioning I do, by habit I say slokas when I go to temple. I ask myself Why? and then tell myself..why not? These are small contradictions in big scheme of things.

     
  3. Saumya

    June 16, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    Nice blog – a favorite topic of mine too. You’ve penned your thoughts well. There is something about believing in a higher power that appeals to some people, and if it ultimately helps us face the trials and tribulations of life – why not?

     
  4. shoba

    June 16, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    @SK,I have been wanting to pen this for a long time.
    @Sri, Saumya,
    Yes, Why not?? I think every person should believe in something and there is nothing wrong if we call it God.

     

Leave a comment